TRENDS delivers Symantec courses in partnership with Red Education.

Symantec Packetshaper 11.9.1 Administration (BCPSA) 


Start End Duration Location Details

Course Details

Symantec Packetshaper 11.9.1 Administration (BCPSA) 
Duration: 3 Days

Course Code: BCPSA


You must have working knowledge of basic TCP/IP networking skills and IP protocols and possess knowledge of the ISO model and you must have completed the PacketShaper eLearning introduction course online.

Course Description:

The PacketShaper 11.9.1 Administration course is intended for IT professionals who wish to develop the knowledge and skills to manage an installed Symantec PacketShaper daily. This course is intended for users who want to apply PacketShaper features that deliver integrated visibility and control to optimize network and application performance.

Course Objectives:

•    Use and understand the PacketShaper product and its functionality and capabilities 
•    Classify traffic 
•    Analyze your network, application and host performance. 
•    Properly configure traffic trees  
•    Use PacketShaper tools to identify and where possible, fix network issues 

Intended Audience:

This course is for IT network or security professionals who are responsible for managing network application performance using the PacketShaper that require basic operational network management and troubleshooting knowledge and skills.

Course Outlines:

Module 1: Welcome to PacketShaper 
•    Course introduction  
•    System Architecture overview  
•    License Demo 

Module 2: PacketShaper Configuration and Understanding Applications 
•    Initial Configuration [L]  
•    Understanding Applications [L]  
•    Analyzing Applications [L] 

Module 3: Classifying Traffic 
•    Traffic Classification [L]  
•    Classification by URLs [L]  
•    Classification by AD User Name [L] 

Module 4: Prioritizing Traffic on the Network 
•    Controlling Applications [L]  
•    Partitions [L] 
•    Policies [L]

Module 5: Management and Identifying Issues in the Network 
•    Network Management [L] 
•    PolicyCenter  
•    Monitoring and Reporting [L] Module 6: Responding to Network Issues and Optimization 
•    Traffic Tree Management  
•    Advanced Bandwidth Management [L] 
•    Adaptive Response [L] Module 7: Deployments, Fault Tolerance and Platform Health  
•    Deployments  
•    HA System Redundancy  
•    Backup, Restore and Upgrading [L]